_community   discussion-forums

Families Discussion Forums

Reply
 
Thread Tools    Search this Thread    Display Modes   
  #1  
Old 06-29-2007, 03:10 PM
fallingidols1's Avatar
fallingidols1
Family Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 15
Default I recieved this email, is it a scam?

I received this email:
We recorded a payment request from "Internet Friends Network -iFriends.net - Girls Show" to enable the charge of $ 64.12 on your account.

Because the order was made from an european internet address, we put an Exception Payment on transaction id #POS01-3425234 motivated by our Geographical Tracking System.

THE PAYMENT IS PENDING FOR THE MOMENT.

If you made this transaction or if you just authorize this payment, please ignore or remove this email message. The transaction will be shown on your monthly statement as "Internet Friends Network".

If you didn't make this payment and would like to decline the $ 64.12 billing to your card, please follow the link below to cancel the payment:

Cancel this payment (transaction id #POS01-3425234)

NOTE: Because email is not a secure form of communication, please do not reply to this email.

-------------------------

I know no one here has signed up for anything over the internet. We don't even have a credit card. I'm just worried that someone is trying to use my email/name for something else...

What I find suspicious is this line: "
If you didn't make this payment and would like to decline the $ 64.12 billing to your card, please follow the link below to cancel the payment:"

How many companies will ask you this?

So does this sound like phishing to you? Or has anyone else gotten this?
__________________
Lilypie 4th Birthday PicLilypie 4th Birthday Ticker


Last edited by JeanLynn81 : 06-29-2007 at 03:20 PM. Reason: link removed for the safety of our other families members
  #2  
Old 06-29-2007, 03:15 PM
twinzplus3's Avatar
twinzplus3
Managing Editor
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 6,809
DO NOT FOLLOW THAT LINK!!!!!!! I have uber spy ware, spam ware, you name it ware on my computer. When I clicked the link it said:

This is a reported phishing site.

When you follow the link. . .they have confirmation, they can phish information etc. Although I don't know how. A good person to ask I believe would be one of our members MissyChrissy. You can PM her--I think she's a computer science major (or something). She would likely be able to explain phishing sites better. . .just don't follow the link.
__________________



Come visit my blogs!
  #3  
Old 06-29-2007, 03:23 PM
JeanLynn81's Avatar
JeanLynn81
Sr. Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,354
Oops.

Was just gonna sign on real quick before I had to run, but couldn't help but edit this thread.

I removed the link, so other Families members don't try to follow the link before reading further.

Good catch though, and I'm glad you recognized it for what it was!

It just follows the old saying yet again-If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is.
__________________


  #4  
Old 06-29-2007, 03:28 PM
twinzplus3's Avatar
twinzplus3
Managing Editor
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 6,809
Thanks Jean Lynn. . .I should've thought of that--duh!
__________________



Come visit my blogs!
  #5  
Old 06-29-2007, 03:36 PM
fallingidols1's Avatar
fallingidols1
Family Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 15
Oh! Sorry! I had no idea that the link was still active! Thanks for catching that! I had just copy and pasted it...Sorry again.
__________________
Lilypie 4th Birthday PicLilypie 4th Birthday Ticker

  #6  
Old 06-29-2007, 03:44 PM
JeanLynn81's Avatar
JeanLynn81
Sr. Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,354
Its all good!

Val-I'm the duh one! I almost clicked the dang thing before reading further myself! I'm not sure my cheapy norton antivirus would protect me from that.

Its been a looong day. My brain is just fried.
__________________

  #7  
Old 06-29-2007, 04:10 PM
twinzplus3's Avatar
twinzplus3
Managing Editor
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 6,809
http://tech.yahoo.com/blogs/null/41 Here was an article I found explaining what a phishing site is. (Gotta love the pic of the fish head.)
__________________



Come visit my blogs!
  #8  
Old 06-29-2007, 04:12 PM
twinzplus3's Avatar
twinzplus3
Managing Editor
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 6,809
http://www.smh.com.au/news/breaking/...e#contentSwap1 Here's the other one that explains it even better
__________________



Come visit my blogs!
  #9  
Old 06-29-2007, 04:46 PM
mcmama's Avatar
mcmama
Family Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 7,830
Yes this is SOOO fishing. Sometimes it really looks like a real site too.

They wanted you to contact them and say uh I never charged this. Who did? and then they would get your card info or sell you a protection or something. Or they would just put a dataminer on your computer.

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | Unsubscribe | Blog For Us! | Be a Moderator! | Advertise with Us | Help
[x]close