Society and Math

I love math. My father was a very logical thinker and was very good at reasoning and mathematical calculations. I developed and inherited my skills from him. I have a Master’s degree in teaching mathematics and I taught Pre-Algebra for four years. Therefore, it is sometimes hard for me to understand our society’s negative attitude about math. When I tell people that I have a Master’s of Science degree in math, they often looked shocked. Not many teachers in elementary education hold this degree, especially kindergarten teachers. I usually hear comments like “really?” and “wow!” Most people naturally assume that … Continue reading

For the Love of Math

Recently, someone posed a question in the forums about how to instill a love of math in your child. I have to start out by saying that I’m not sure every kid will love math. I think some families have a certain affection for numbers while others don’t. In my own children what I hope they love is how to learn. On the other hand, I believe the poster was looking for specific resources and ideas that make learning math fun. Here are some of my favorites ideas that win the vote of approval from my own children: Math Manipulatives … Continue reading

Where Might “Once Upon A Time” Be Headed?

We’re big fans of ABC’s “Once Upon A Time” around here on families.com. I’ve discussed the show before, and Mary Ann’s reviewed one of the latest episodes. The Disney-inspired drama recently took a short break for the holidays, but it’s going to be back with new episodes starting this coming Sunday, January 8. I’m not planning to review each episode as it comes along. But now that we’re about halfway through the season I think it will be interesting to take a moment to consider where the show has been, and where it might be going. Emma, the daughter of … Continue reading

Teens and Self Esteem